Have you ever played Pictureka?

If you haven’t, watch the video to find out how to play it 🙂

Pictureka is fun. It’s a visual-based game. We roll the dice, read the mission and you have a certain amount of seconds to find the picture.

Here is our version of it produced by my learners:

11167786_10204908083276549_4325933308399705345_oI proposed to my 11-year-old girls to fill the page with as many drawings of school objects or things related to school/study as possible for us to play a game similar to pictureka. And when they ran out of ideas to draw, I told them they could draw other pictures to confuse the players and fill the page.

It takes time though for them to draw, but they really like producing their own game and pictureka can be really fun to play as well as practicing with the language. We decided to write together clues describing the objects instead of just writing the word which could be an option too for vocabulary game. I’d still prefer using a sentence, even if a simple one is better than just a word.

Find the picture of a desk with an apple on top.

Find the pictures of a group of students playing.

Why not use pictures from magazines instead of drawing if time is an issue?

Actually, this has given me another idea. I could get various pictures of magazines, instead of asking them to draw, and make a college on A4 paper size cardboard and create various sentences describing what people are doing for example. As I write this post, I can see a number of other possibilities.

  • cut as many pictures from magazines
  • give them the pictures to write descriptive sentences or clues
  • choose together the sentences that best describes the image
  • ask them to copy the sentences to the clue cards
  • glue the images on A4 pages or large cardboard paper

After drawing we worked on writing the clues. We discussed and decided on what the clues would be. One of the girls did raise the issue that the clues might be a bit hard to remember, but I assured them that the more they played it, more they will learn the clues and the meaning.

Playing time? Next week! But I’m sure it will be fun as it offers enough support for everyone to participe and have a fair chance to win. It can be played by having a learner reading the clue and finding the picture as fast as he/she can (before running out of time – we can use a digital timer or a sand-glass) as in the original pictureka game, or the teacher reading the clue to everyone and them trying to find the picture all at the same time. The winner is whoever finds it first and collect more cards. I can’t wait for the next class 🙂

It can be played with any theme or vocabulary in mind, fun to produce with learners and great to play at any time.

7 thoughts on “Have you ever played Pictureka?

  1. What a great idea, Rose! Thanks for the tip. An idea that came to mind while I was reading: I could ask one class to collaborate on a huge collage/picture board that could then be used by another class to 1) make the glue cards (if it’s a higher/more proficient class) or 2) to play the game the other class prepared.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Warmers, fillers, icebreakers | Pearltrees

  3. Pingback: Have you ever played Pictureka? | Esl - Efl ac...

  4. Hi Rose,

    Traditionally, it’s teachers who get to ask all the questions though it’s students who need the practice, isn’t it? I’ve always found students love quizzing each other about texts, videos, etc. but I’ve never tried it with pictures. Sounds like a lot of fun. It’s inspired me with an idea for using it in my interactive exercises.

    Thanks a lot,
    Glenys

    Liked by 1 person

    • Letting learners do things is always more enjoyable and meaningful, I reckon. I also believe that they should be able to make more decisions in class and handing out the responsability of creating the quiz is certainly more interesting. I just done that with comic books. I only think I could have set the purpose of the task in a more interest way. Something I should not forget next time.

      I look forward to checking out your interactive exercises. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

