My Extensive Reading Blueprint ;)

I can’t talk about my own experience with ER without talking about the amazing people who introduced it to me. Kevin Stein’s blog has always been a great source of inspiration as he shares experiences directly from his classes. That was in 2013. Then, later that year Marcos Benevides and other authors came up with this awesome project called Attama-ii. I had never heard of Multiple-path stories before, and I got super excited for the books to come out in early 2014. With Marcos’ help I introduced my students to it using Zombies in Tokyo with 9th graders and The Lost Cup with my 8th graders.

If you haven’t checked this series out yet, here is the website.

 Kevin’s post that inspired me:

Extensive Reading, but what if…

ERrose1By reading my reply to Kevin’s post, you can notice that I was clueless of what to do. The only thing I was sure of was that I did not believe it would work with ALL my students.

(spoiler: How wrong I was!)

ERkevin1Kevin in Japan and me in Brazil. Who would know that we all face mostly the same challenges when comes to teens?

Other posts from Kevin that shouldn’t be missed. I highly recommend reading the post above and all the comments.

Students’s Stories of the Extensive Reading Experience

Read Think Write an Extensive Reading Activity

Useful Extensive Reading Links

Research Evidence Supporting Extensive Reading in an EFL setting

Extensive Reading bring in team qualitative

Writer’s Workshop in the Reading Class

Teacher Dereliction Anxiety Dissorder

Working with BElow the Surface

Fluency Activities to build summarizing skills

I haven’t read them all myself, but I’ll make sure I do before the next term starts cuz I’m sure I’ll discover wonderful ideas to use in my classes. My big thanks to Kevin for blogging. And also all bloggers out there! Thank YOU 😀

Almost a year later…

ERrose2Sight Words list from Kevin – Very useful!

I was eager to give ER a try!

Luckily I had this wonderful opportunity to take the iTDi Advanced course 

            ELT Reading Materials Design with Marcos Benevides last September which gave me the last piece of understanding that was missing to put it all together using what I had available.

Previous post on ER/TALO/TAVI

krashenFor more information about next iTDi Advanced Live course click here.

2 thoughts on “My Extensive Reading Blueprint ;)

  1. Hi Rose,

    Thank you so much for this post, and for trusting me enough to start giving ER a try with your students. It fills me with so much energy to know that we are all working to expose our students to new ways of learning and taking risks ourself as teachers to explore new ways to facilitate that learning. Thanks for the chance to learn from your and your students and I’m so glad I have had the chance to give something back.

    Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Extensive Reading and English for Academic Purposes | Anthony Teacher.com

Leave a Reply

