Celebrating blogging and PLN

Photo taken from http://flickr.com/eltpics by @ij64, used under a CC Attribution Non-Commercial license, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Photo taken from http://flickr.com/eltpics by @ij64, used under a CC Attribution Non-Commercial license, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Blogging is a public business. Once you start blogging, you start exposing yourself. Then, nothing more natural than developing an uneasy feeling and getting a bunch of questions popping up in your head. Because of that, one might decide to stop blogging. People blog for different reasons, but the one that stops teachers from blogging is the fear of having nothing worth to say, write or share. As nobody blogs for oneself but to be in contact with the community that shares the same interests. The magic of blogging is the possible interaction that might occur through it. Without it, the whole thing would be seemed pointless.

I write everyday. I fill my books with thoughts. My lesson planning with remarks, feedback and whatever comes up before, after or during the lesson. I write because I have lots to say… especially to myself. I blog though because I hope other teachers who may take the time to read may also take the time to reflect with me. Thus, contribute with my PD and help me offer the best to my students.

But…

Blogging is time consuming. You need to consider what & why you are writing a particular blogpost. There seem to be a need to be written out in a manner that is clear as possible to the reader where you are going.  Building a PLN of bloggers who will care to read each others’ blog also takes time and effort. It is such a blessing when you have people who care to take a look in your teaching context and offer something for you to take back to it in the next day or week, or even year. I feel blessed for having those who care to share with me there thoughts and critical eyes on matters I post.

Two friends, four hands, twenty fingers

Photo taken from http://flickr.com/eltpics by Martin Eayrs, used under a CC Attribution Non-Commercial license, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/

Although it is time consuming, it is also rewarding. I use blogging as a PD tool. As I blog, I practice describing my own teaching experience as well as having the opportunity to reflect on my teaching assumptions and beliefs. That is why my blog is a journal. It is not about sharing activities, even though that will happen from time to time, but more about the rationale of why I had chosen them. It is not about happy moments either, nor it is about not knowing where I am heading.

It is more about the UHs? OHs. and AHAs! than anything else.

And without the GREAT TEACHERS I have met through first iTDi AND BLOGGING, then Twitter and Facebook, I would never have gotten where I am now as far as knowing where I am heading. Their contributions have been more than valuable, they have been essential and inspiring for my continuing development.

10 thoughts on “Celebrating blogging and PLN

    • Thanks Nathan for your words of encouragement. Until last year I couldn’t express myself as much as I can today. I have improved in so many ways thanks to blogging and dialoguing with so many teachers out there, and also the support of iTDi as I said before. As I am preparing myself to start the second semester of classes next week, I realised how much I have achieved personally in my PD thanks to you all.

      Like

  1. Dear Rose,
    Thank you for being one of the people who make blogging worthwhile for me. Your constant support and willingness to read and comment really helps me see that my thoughts are worth sharing. Your feedback and help has been so valuable to help me see my teaching in different ways. Thank you so much!

    p.s. to add to what you wrote, blogging also improves my writing skills because I have to think more about organisation and audience.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing! Having just started a blog this year, I can only second everything you said above. The networking & reflecting are such a big part of blogging… there is nothing better than throwing out ideas to other teachers who are open to sharing and getting feedback. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by Matt. I’m so glad we can count on this great network to exchange ideas, experience and dialogue.
      🙂 Reflecting out aloud and dialoguing with other teachers really helps me to make sense of what I am doing. Thanks for the support.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Blogging | ELT Reflections

  4. Thanks for another inspiring post, Rose! I started blogging as part of a course I was taking (Becoming a Webhead through TESOL EVO) and remember being afraid that I had nothing original to say! I love how you let us share in your process of teaching and growing, through your posts. I always enjoy your posts!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for sharing that Barbar. When I’m planning lessons for my teens I always remember our first chat and how you helped me connect with amazing teachers who work with teens. Thanks for all your support.

      Like

  5. Hello again Rose, This blog post is indeed extremely relevant to me as I start my blogging adventure. I underestimated the time it would take to blog and build a network and found I had very little time for it last term. I have also struggled with the “uneasy feeling” you mentioned regarding what I am sharing.

    I think I perhaps need to narrow down and focus on an aspect of teaching that is particularly important for me and then set aside a limited amount of time to reflect and write about that aspect. Thanks for your writing and comments.

    Like

Leave a Reply

